Interim Study Committee on Utilities, Energy and Telecommunications 9/2/14 Hearing




(A) The role of water in Indiana

• 9:00-9:15 a.m.: Water in Northern Indiana (Kay Nelson, Environmental

Affairs Director, Northwest Indiana Forum)

• 9:15-9:30 a.m.: Water in Central Indiana (The Honorable Huck Lewis, Mayor,

City of Lebanon)

• 9:30-9:45 a.m.: Water in Southern Indiana (David Dahl, Director of

Engineering, Midwestern Engineers, Inc.)

• 9:45-10:00 a.m.: Role of water in recruiting businesses and growing the

economy (Larry Gigerich, Managing Director, Ginovus)

• 10:00-10:15 a.m.: Environmental issues (Barbara Simpson, Executive

Director, Indiana Wildlife Federation)

(B) Current status of Indiana's Water Resources

• 10:15-10:30 a.m.: Water Resource Management Act; Great Lakes-St.

Lawrence River Basin Water Resources Compact (Mark Basch, Section Head,

Water Rights/Use, Division of Water, Indiana Department of Natural Resources)

• 10:30-10:45 a.m.: Role of the Indiana Department of Environmental

Management (IDEM) (Thomas Easterly, Commissioner, IDEM)

• 10:45-11:00 a.m.: Water-related Indiana statutes and administrative rules

(Craig Mortell, Senior Staff Attorney, Legislative Services Agency)

(C) Future of Indiana's Water Resources

• 11:00-11:20 a.m.: Utilities' perspectives; short and long term needs;

conservation; loss detection; infrastructure (Jeff Willman, Executive Director of

Water Operations, and Joe Sutherland, Director, Government and External Affairs,

Citizens Energy Group)

• 11:20 a.m.-11:40 a.m.: Rural utilities' perspectives (Connie Stevens, Executive

Director, Alliance of Indiana Rural Water)

• 11:40-12:00 p.m.: Indiana Chamber of Commerce study (Jack Wittman,

Ph.D., Principal Geoscientist, INTERA)


LUNCH BREAK (12:00-1:00 p.m.)



• 1:00-1:25 p.m.: Pipeline safety information from IURC's annual natural gas

industry report (Carol A. Stephan, Chair, IURC)

• 1:25-1:50 p.m.: Peter Lidiak, Pipeline Director, American Petroleum Institute

• 1:50-2:15 p.m.: Paul Fallon, President, HRP Construction, Inc.; Kurt Youngs,

President, National Utility Contractors Association of Indiana

• 2:15-2:40 p.m.: Mark Maassel, Vice President, Indiana Energy Association;

Chris Braun, Vice President, Energy Operations, Citizens Energy Group; John

Koppin, President, Indiana Telecommunications Association; Robert Stewart, State

Director-Government and External Affairs, Frontier Communications; Mark Drew,

President, Vivax Corporation; Guy McIntosh III, Vice President, USIC Locating

Services, Inc.

• 2:40-3:00 p.m.: Chuck Muller, Member Services/Public Relations Director,

Indiana 811



• 3:00-3:20 p.m.: Brian Christenberry, Manager of State Government Relations,

Indiana Statewide Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives

• 3:20-4:00 p.m.: Carolyn Wright, Vice President of Government Relations,

Indiana Municipal Power Agency; Michael B. Cracraft, Hackman Hulett &

Cracraft; Steven Waltz, M.D., Rockville Town Council; The Honorable Chuck

Fewell, Mayor, City of Greenfield; The Honorable Terry R. Seitz, Mayor, City of


4:00-4:20 p.m.: Laura Arnold, President, Indiana Distributed Energy Alliance.

• 4:20-4:40 p.m.: Jennifer Terry, Lewis & Kappes, on behalf of Indiana Industrial

Energy Consumers, Inc.

• 4:40-5:00 p.m.: Mark Maassel, Vice President, Indiana Energy Association

Copies of the presentations can be downloaded below:

Exhibit Description
A Mayor Huck Lewis--Handout PDF icon
B David Dahl--Presentation PDF icon
C David Dahl--Handout PDF icon
D Barbara Simpson--Testimony PDF icon
E Mark Basch--Presentation PDF icon
F Thomas Easterly--Presentation PDF icon
G Craig Mortell--Presentation PDF icon
H Craig Mortell--Handout PDF icon
I Jeff Willman--Presentation PDF icon
J Connie Stevens--Handout PDF icon
K Jack Wittman, Ph.D.--Presentation PDF icon
L IURC Pipeline Safety Presentation PDF icon
M Peter Lidiak--Testimony PDF icon
N Paul Fallon--Presentation PDF icon
O Mark Drew--Handout #1 PDF icon
P Mark Drew--Handout #2 PDF icon
Q Guy McIntosh III--Resume PDF icon
R Guy McIntosh III--Handout PDF icon
S Robert Stewart--Testimony PDF icon
T Chuck Muller--Presentation PDF icon
U Brian Christenberry--Handout PDF icon
V Indiana Municipal Power Agency--Handout PDF icon
W Mayor Chuck Fewell--Testimony & Handout PDF icon
X Laura Arnold--Presentation PDF icon
Y Indiana Industrial Energy Consumers, Inc.--Presentation & Handout PDF icon
Z Mark Maassel--Presentation PDF icon

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

Copyright 2013 IndianaDG