Indiana Utility Regulatory Commissioner Kari Bennett to leave Commission

Posted by Laura Arnold  /   November 10, 2013  /   Posted in Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC), Uncategorized  /   No Comments

Commissioner Kari Bennett to Leave the IURC


INDIANAPOLIS (11/08/13) – Commissioner Kari Bennett has announced her resignation from the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC). Bennett was first appointed in January 2011 by Governor Mitch Daniels.


Her term is scheduled to expire March 2014. Bennett replaced former chairman David Lott Hardy and is serving the remainder of a four-year term that ends on March 31, 2014. Former Governor Mitch Daniels fired Hardy.

This is the second Commissioner to announce their departure from the IURC in recent months. On 09/23/13, Commissioner Larry Landis announced his retirement. His term expires December 2015.

This will now give Governor Mike Pence to appoint two Republicans of his choosing to the IURC from three candidates selected by the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission Nominating Committee. Candidates for these vacancies apply to the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission Nominating Committee. Thus far I have not seen an announcement about the IURC  Nominating Committee accepting applications for either vacancy.

When Commissioner Bennett was appointed to the IURC, members of the nominating committee were committee chair William Stephan, Jennifer Messer, Greg Gibson, Mark Pope, Susan Sandberg, Larry Buell and June Lyle. See

For details on the IURC Nominating Committee see

IC 8-1-1.5-5
Vacancy on public service commission; notice; meeting;
nomination of candidates; appointment
Sec. 5. (a) When a vacancy occurs on the commission, the
governor shall promptly notify the chairman of the nominating
committee of the vacancy. The chairman shall call a meeting of the
committee within ten (10) days after the notice. The nominating
committee shall submit its nominations of three (3) candidates for
each vacancy and certify them to the governor no later than forty (40)
days from the time the vacancy occurs. When it is known that a
vacancy will occur at a definite future date, but the vacancy has not
yet occurred, the governor shall notify the nominating committee
immediately thereof, and the committee may, within sixty (60) days
of the notice of the vacancy, make its nominations and submit to the
governor the names of three (3) persons nominated for the
forthcoming vacancy.
(b) The governor may appoint to the commission one (1) of the
three (3) persons nominated by the nominating committee for a
vacancy, or the governor may reject all of such nominees. If the
governor rejects all of such nominees, he shall so notify the chairman
of the nominating committee, and the committee shall certify the
nominations of three (3) additional candidates to the governor not
later than forty (40) days after receipt of such notice. The governor
shall fill the vacancy on the commission from one (1) of such
additional nominees.
As added by P.L.43-1983, SEC.8.


“Commissioner Bennett’s extensive legal and environmental expertise allowed her to make a positive impact at the IURC starting the very first day of her appointment,” said IURC Chairman Jim Atterholt. “She will be sorely missed.”

During Bennett’s tenure at the IURC, she helped reform the integrated resource planning process, in which electric utilities identify the optimal mix of resources to meet future customer needs. Her environmental background was also critical to the IURC as it considered a variety of utility requests to address the requirements and effects of U.S. Environmental Protection Agency regulations.

“I have been honored to serve with my follow Commissioners and our dedicated talented staff at the IURC, and I feel fortunate to have been given several opportunities during my career to serve my fellow Hoosiers,” said Bennett.

Prior to joining the IURC, Bennett had already served the state of Indiana for a number of years. She was chief legal counsel for the Indiana Department of Natural Resources and policy director for Environment and Natural Resources for Governor Daniels. She also served in various roles at the Indiana Department of Environmental Management.


Learn more about the other IURC members.


Chairman Atterholt was appointed to the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission on June 22, 2009 by Governor Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr. . . .
[full bio]

 KARI A. E. BENNETT, Commissioner

Commissioner Bennett was appointed by Governor Mitch Daniels on January 13, 2011 to the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission . . .
[full bio]

LARRY S. LANDIS, Commissioner

After 30 years in the private sector, Commissioner Landis was appointed to the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission 8-1/2 years ago by the late Governor Frank O’Bannon . . .
[full bio]

CAROLENE R. MAYS, Commissioner

Commissioner Mays was appointed by Governor Mitch Daniels on February 17, 2010 to the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission . . .
[full bio]

DAVID E. ZIEGNER, Commissioner

Commissioner Ziegner was appointed to the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission on August 25, 1990, by Governor Evan Bayh and reappointed to a full, four-year term in April of 1991 and again in December of 1995. He was reappointed by . . .
[full bio]

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

Copyright 2013 IndianaDG