IURC Nominating Committee Sets Schedule to Fill Vacancy; Applications Due 7/20/16

Posted by Laura Arnold  /   July 06, 2016  /   Posted in Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC), Uncategorized  /   No Comments



IURC Nominating Committee Members_1

Photos by Laura Ann Arnold: IURC Nominating Committee 7/1/16.

 IURC Nominating Committee Outlines Selection Schedule

The IURC Nominating Committee held its initial meeting Friday, July 1 at the Indiana State House to begin the process to replace former Commissioner  Carolene Mays-Medley.  A media release is expected soon announcing that applications are now available and must be returned by the close of business on Wednesday, July 20.

The IURC Nominating Committee members will receive their binders with all of the timely, qualifying applications by close of business on Friday, July 22. Next the Committee will meet on Monday, July 25, at 1:30 p.m. to determine which applicants will be interviewed.  The interviews (depending on availability of the appropriate room) will preferably be held Friday, August 5, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., with the backup date being Thursday, August 4, same times.  Background checks will be conducted August 8 to 18, with the Committee meeting again on Friday, August 19, 1:30 P.M., to select the three candidates whose names will be forwarded to the Governor.

The Committee will recommend three candidates. State law provides that not more than 3 Commissioners may be of the same political party as the Governor, therefore, candidates must be either Democrats or Independents.

Members of the Committee are: Allen Paul – Chair; Eric Scroggins; John Blevins; Larry Buell; Win Moses; Michael Evans, and Michael Mullett. Mullett participated in the meeting on Friday via telephone.

For more information:


NOTE: Allen Paul is a former Republican Indiana State Senator from Richmond, IN. Larry Buell is a former Republican State Representative from Indianapolis. Win Moses is a former Democratic Mayor of the City of Ft. Wayne.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

Copyright 2013 IndianaDG