Governor Pence Names Angela Weber, Carol Stephan to Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission

Posted by Laura Arnold  /   February 21, 2014  /   Posted in Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC), Uncategorized  /   No Comments


February 21, 2014

Contact: Kara Brooks

Governor Pence Names Angela Weber, Carol Stephan to Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission

Indianapolis – Governor Mike Pence today named Angela Weber and Carol Stephan to the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC). Stephan’s appointment will be effective March 3, and Weber’s appointment will be effective March 10.

“As evidenced by her service to both her country and state, Angela Weber has demonstrated time and again her dedication and passion for serving Hoosiers,” said Governor Pence. “Her past experience will serve her well as a member of the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission, and I am grateful for her willingness to serve.”

Angela Weber, of Franklin, currently works for Ice Miller LLP. Prior to this role, Weber served in a variety of roles including as Staff Attorney in the Indiana Department of Education, Administrative Law Judge for the IURC, and Deputy Prosecuting Attorney for the Marion County Prosecutor’s Office. From 1996 to 2000, she served as a Russian Linguist/Voice-Intercept Operator for the United States Army. Weber is a graduate of Indiana University and the Indiana University Maurer School of Law.

“Carol Stephan’s extensive legal experience and background with the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission allow her to bring invaluable insight to the table,” said Pence. “I am confident she will work tirelessly to ensure reliable services and reasonable prices for Hoosier utilities customers.”

Carol Stephan, of Indianapolis, currently serves as Assistant General Counsel for the IURC. Stephan has previously served within State Government as General Counsel for the Indiana Office of Utility Consumer Counselor, Interim Deputy Commissioner and Director of Partner Services for the Indiana Department of Workforce Development, and Deputy Attorney General in the Bankruptcy/Inheritance Tax Division the in Office of the Attorney General of Indiana. She earned her undergraduate degree from Indiana University and her law degree from the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law.

On February 11, 2014, the IURC Nominating Committee put forth six candidates to fill current vacancies on the IURC created by the resignations of Commissioners Kari Bennett and Larry Landis.

“I extend my utmost appreciation to the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission Nominating Committee for their diligence, integrity and commitment to public transparency throughout this process,” said the Governor.

Members of the IURC Nominating Committee are Committee Chair Gwen Horth, Eric Scroggins, John Blevins, Larry Buell, Win Moses, Michael Evans, and Michael Mullett.



 Also see

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

Copyright 2013 IndianaDG